Sweeney Todd (Demon Barber of Fleet Street)

Thanks for your comments about the blog everyone! If I had a machine that could download the contents of my brain within seconds into coherent words then I would post every day. While you guys get working on that, I’ll keep working on quality over quantity and not burning myself out on this thing.

Today we implement the encouragement for more dude stuff. Here at NaC we don’t get caught up with gender binaries. In the words of the Feminist Hulk:

TRICK TO SMASHING GENDER BINARY: MAKE SURE IT NOT SIMPLY BREAK INTO TWO NORMATIVE PIECES. HULK CREATE GENDERQUEER DEBRIS! (source)

That said I’m not aiming for “drag” or even androgyny when I try to recreate male outfits – I’m aiming for me wearing some clothes that I think look damn awesome. So for the dudes who read my blog your mileage may vary on my advice. One of the drawbacks of blogging this thing alone is that you only really get one perspective and one body type but if some of you guys sent in pictures/outfits I would be happy to post them up and share the love (hint hint).

The idea for this outfit came after I visited the Tim Burton Exhibition at ACMI (which is apparently a rehash of the MoMA one)  and drooled over the costumes that were on show there. I sometimes feel that men’s fashion can be very same-old, but Burton’s costumes for his male leads were always very distinctive and integrated with the character design, as much so as the costumes for his females leads.

Breaking It Down

Mr Todd is wearing…

  • White Victorian shirt with large cuffs and puffy sleeves.
  • Double-breasted button-up vest with lapels.
  • Fitted pinstripe pants.
  • A cravat.
  • A leather belt.
  • Fingerless gloves.

On occasion he also wears a short, almost cropped long-sleeved canvas jacket, or alternatively a mid-thigh long leather jacket.

The two most important items in the wardrobe is the vest and the shirt, with everything else being interchangeable to a degree. If possible try to find a double-breasted vest with lapels that cover most of the torso and upper-chest area. Although most button-up shirts don’t have this level of puff to the sleeves, some of them will have looser sleeves than others. Look at the cuffs to see if there’s a pleat that’s tucked and sewed in.

Silhouette-wise you want a V-shape if possible. The outline of the shirt sleeves gives the impression of the outfit being heavier around the shoulders and arms, and the tight-fitted vest makes the rest of the body but especially the waist and hips look small in comparison. To maintain the somewhat out of proportion ratio make sure your pants are also tight-fitting.

Try to keep colours muted like in the film if possible, or at least very dark shades. Stay with heavy matte fabrics for everything but the shirt which ideally would be made out of a light material like linen. If you have a shirt that is light, loose and floaty (as opposed to crisp, pressed and business-like) wear that one.

The Outfit

What I’m wearing:

  • White shirt from my high school uniform (!!) with that collar popped up to imitated a Victorian high collar and cuffs buttoned up. (This trick will work with most button-shirts if you do up the top button.) – I have no idea what this cost, but I’d consider it “free” for these purposes.
  • Double-breasted black vest that used to be a jacket- $10 from Cotton On (a post on this is in the works!)
  • Pinstripe black denim pants from Target – $20
  • Belt with pockets from Happy Cow – $70 (design is now discontinued)
  • Fingerless leather gloves – $20 from Sportsgirl.
  • Thin black scarf with star pattern – originally attached to a dress.
  • Black boots – $100 from Tony Bianco

I couldn’t find a jacket that I was 100% happy with so I ended up going with a huge ankle-length woollen jacket that looked vaguely Victorian and matched the outfit.

If I were Johnny Depp the folowing picture would make people faint from teh hawt. Unfortunately I just look silly.

3 responses to “Sweeney Todd (Demon Barber of Fleet Street)

  1. Pingback: Style Quickie – Arthur (Inception) « Not a Cosplayer

Leave a Reply

