Mid-year sales

I got such a positive response for my last NeckThingy post and I just want to thank you all for reading, commenting and linking (again). A lot of people seem to be planning to make one so please send in pictures because I’d love to see what you come up with. I will try to post more easy DIYs in the future but for now you’ll have to humour me this shopping post…

It’s the end of the financial year and retailers are getting their sale on. Here’s a handful of items I picked up on sale that I absolutely love and that will probably crop up in this blog again:

Fingerless Leather Gloves

Sportsgirl was having a super massive sale on these for $20. I’d seen some Very Nice pairs from Dents in Myer but I couldn’t justify $40 on gloves. Luckily weird leather gloves have been in season (I blame Lady Gaga) so Portmans, Dotti and all those types of stores had them on their accessory rack. Sportsgirl was the cheapest and I had to trample around the city from one store to another looking for the right size.

I’ve wanted a pair of these for so long and now I can’t stop wearing them. The leather is very supple and allows a lot of movement while keeping your hands warm during winter. I’d retroactively wear them with almost all the outfits I’ve posted: Noodle, KK, Tonks, the soopar sekrit upcoming character outfit and my steampunk airship first mate.

Top Hat vs Derby Hat

Wildilocks had a massive 2 for 1 sale before their stocktake day and I managed to pick up this hat for $55. The height is much shorter than a regular top hat; it’s like a derby hat but derby hats (or bowler hats) have a rounded crown which this one doesn’t. I already own a top hat but it’s quite high and unwieldy to wear everyday and not nearly as shapely as this one. I love the upturned sides and the slight concave shape of the crown.

I’ll definitely be doing a post about my hat collection in the future. I’d wear this one with steampunk, Mad Hatter or Sandman’s Death inspired outfits.

Black Buckled and Tulle Skirt

The free item from Wildilocks’ sale above. I’ve been looking for a short black ruffle-y skirt and while this doesn’t exactly fit the bill it’s a pretty close match. I plan on wearing this by itself, layering this with different underskirts and pretending I’m a goth ballerina. I’d switch out the skirt in KK’s outfit for this one.

Here’s a picture of me wearing everything and pretending to be Lady Gaga


3 responses to “Mid-year sales

  1. Pingback: Tank Girl (Tank Girl) « Not a Cosplayer

  2. Pingback: Cyndi Lauper « Not a Cosplayer

  3. Pingback: Worn Wild « Not a Cosplayer

Leave a Reply

